Today’s gratitude

Because I’ve been rather miserable today with an enforced relationship with my {not really} friend Al-Er- Gee, my thoughts went flying back over the years to some bouts with this antagonist.
His plan of attack is usually much the same: There is just one strategy-find something that my sinuses will totally object to and use it. And if Plan A doesn’t get quite the desired result, bring Plan B into action.
This week Plan A was being kept to a low-key rumble that didn’t fully satisfy my opponent, until suddenly he seized a great opportunity and inveigled a kind little boy into offering me “a hold” of his new puppy. It was such a cute little bundle of friendliness and went to sleep on my lap as my hand automatically and unthinkingly, stroked its soft puppy fur. {Aaaah Choooo!! Sorry!} The pup was indeed cute but not my resulting reactions. And as I coughed my way through a near sleepless night I had not one thought for the “cuteness” that said puppy exhibited! Nor the next night either!

But today I considered how fortunate I am when something not major comes to tickle my sinuses and the rest of my head joins in the party. I’m just miserable, not ill, so its all relative and I am grateful for my normal good health and energy.
But I am off track as to what I began to say! {as usual, some of my family might comment at this junction –if they were not so charitably inclined.}

Today’s “miserableness” caused me to think back across the years to times of being unwell, and to compare it with nowadays as far as convenience is concerned.

Today I don’t have to worry about having to cross a cold, windy back lawn, or walk down a short, dark pathway, to an equally dark, and sometimes spider-decorated “house” to take care of my bodily needs. I can simply open a couple of doors in my warm home, close them when done and everything is left clean and sweet.

Today I don’t need to wait while three or six kettles of water heat on top of a fuel stove-which of course I have had to stuff with wood carried in from outside- or else to have to hang said three or so kettles on hooks over an open fire-before I can take a bath.

You understand that I have to carry the tin/zinc bathtub inside from where it hangs out there, before I can fill it. You may ask why don’t I just keep it inside! Oh, I see you’ve guessed that it doubles as my-and my family’s- bathtub, and laundry tub as well. And it is outside because that is where it needs to be for my laundry days, either in the open air if I am really unlucky, or in the “washhouse” a little way off from the house proper if I am in one of the luckier houses I have lived in.
Now do remember there is no plug to pull when I am finished my tubby-or when the children have finished theirs-so I must “bail out” the used water and trip along on “fairy feet” {mustn’t have been me, or that description would not fit my large feet!} to dispose of it by bucketful, somewhere outside.

Today I could open the glass door to my shower, turn a tap {!} and then feel the soothing flow of clean, warm water all over my body. I could even twist the tap control to have a jet stream of water massage my aching shoulders. Warmth from the heater comforted me as I dried and dressed-unlike some “bathrooms” I have experienced, where a cooling breeze drifts through gaps in the outer walls to keep one “refreshed” and acting with an expeditious rate in the dressing process.

Today I do not need to wait for one of those six kettles to re-heat so that I can fill a hot water bottle to place in my startlingly unwarm bed, before I take my “miserableness” to rest there.
Today I simply make sure that I have turned the switch on my electric blanket before I am ready to fall into the heat the sheets have absorbed from it.

Today there is no need for me to be anxious lest the candle by whose light I am reading, drips wax onto the table by the bed, or worse still that I get sleepy and forget to blow it out before I drift off to slumber-land, and risk awaking to danger.
Ah, no, today I just click the switch of my trusty bedside lamp, angle the light to best show the pages of my current reading matter, and if I fall asleep the lamp will not even notice-nor will I, until my book slides gently to the floor to awaken me with a notice to switch out the light.

So with all these thoughts of past and present fortunate blessings, in my head I am about to take myself away to bed with my “miserableness”, and hope for sleep to vanquish the antagonist, and that I awaken to see Al-Er-Gee slinking off into the grey dawn light with his sinus-blockers, sneeze-activators and cough-inducers clutched in his trembling and unhappy hands!

PS And just in case you may think me elaborating about anything here, I need to protect my reputation by stating that I have experienced all of the above “refinements” mentioned, plus a few more, in past times! All of which has induced my deep gratitude for what I am able to use and experience today. And which engenders a compassion within me for those who would think it a wonderful blessing if they could experience something even remotely akin to the conditions I have described here-either past or present conditions.
{Effy}

7 thoughts on “Today’s gratitude

  1. Oh, how true that there are still people in the world who would love your early life conditions. And how often we remember that in our lucky situations.
    Hope Al has well and truly gone today. Beware of cute puppies!

  2. It was never really “the good old days” was it, Enid! I was born in 1955, but my family were poor and we lived in older houses – sometimes decrepit farm houses or outbuildings. Yes, a lot to be grateful for these days.

    • Well, you are 20 years younger than me and was born the year I was married! Sounds like we had similar times in our youth, although my dad was a timber-mill owner and cut the timber for our houses so they were sturdy though lacking any modern conveniences. I had seven brothers and one sister so there were a lot of us to raise, and we had what we needed but not “extras”
      However my husband and I rented 17 different homes before we were able to buy one of our own, 15 years later. Many of those homes had some of the “refinements” I wrote of but we really lacked nothing. I think as long as people love each other in their families the things that some might feel are needed can be overlooked. When I compare past and present homes with so many people in dire straits throughout the world, I am grateful indeed.Oops, sorry that was a bit long!

      • Not too long at all, Enid. Though our surroundings were pretty rough at times, a few hungry times as well, we had a decent childhood – at least I did, being the oldest and gone before the rot set in. 🙂

      • Can’t remember ever being hungry though we had plain fare in my childhood. Must be an awful feeling to be hungry, and how many millions experience that every day of heir lives?

Leave a Reply

